Ian Cron and The Road Back to You [Event Recap]

Photos by Jennifer Driscoll

We were honored to partner with Harrison Center to bring bestselling author, Enneagram teacher and nationally recognized speaker Ian Cron to Indianapolis for a two-day workshop! 

The Enneagram is an ancient personality typing system that identifies nine core personality types and describes how each sees and interacts with the world.

Over the course of the two-day workshop, Ian walked through each Enneagram number with personal stories filled with humor and sincerity, giving an in-depth look at the strengths and challenges of each type. He also invited people from the crowd of each Enneagram type to participate in a panel discussion and share about their experiences and world views. Ultimately, Ian emphasized that the goal of studying the Enneagram is to raise self-awareness for ourselves and to foster compassion and empathy for others.

“By challenging us to bravely explore who we really are, the Enneagram helps us recognize and overcome self-defeating patterns of behavior and to become our most authentic selves.”

Interested in learning more? Here’s a brief overview of each Enneagram type:

Type 1: The Perfectionist

Passion/Deadly Sin: Anger
Ethical, dedicated and reliable, Ones are motivated by a desire to live the right way, improve the world, and avoid fault and blame. When Ones realize that neither they nor anyone else can live up to their impossibly high standards, their passion of Anger activates and takes the form of resentment and a judgmental and critical spirit toward others. 

Type 2: The Helper

Passion/Deadly Sin: Pride
Warm, caring and giving, Twos are motivated by a need to be loved and needed, while refusing to acknowledge their own needs. The passion of Pride reveals itself in the Two’s belief that other people are more needy than they are, and that they alone know what’s best for others.

Type 3: The Performer

Passion/Deadly Sin: Deceit
Accomplishment-oriented, image-conscious and wired for productivity, Threes are motivated by a need to be (or appear to be) successful and avoid failure. To win success and admiration, Threes become social chameleons who can slip into almost any mask to impress and please the crowd. The Passion of Deceit enters the picture for Threes when they deceive others and themselves into believing they are their persona.

Type 4: The Individualist

Passion/Deadly Sin: Envy
Creative, sensitive and moody, Fours are motivated by a need to be special and unique. The Passion of Envy activates when Fours compare the wholeness and happiness others seem to enjoy in life and then project a unique image to compensate for its absence in their own
*Ian Cron is a 4!

Type 5: The Investigator


Passion/Deadly Sin: Avarice or Greed
Analytics, detached and private, Fives are motivated by a need to gain knowledge, conserve energy and avoid relying on others. Fives succumb to the Passion of Avarice or Greed when they begin to withhold love and affection from others.

Type 6: The Loyalist

Passion/Deadly Sin: Fear
Committed, practical and witty, Sixes question their ability to handle life on their own and turn to authority figures and to belief systems rather than their own inner compass to provide them with the support and security they yearn for.

Type 7: The Enthusiast

Passion/Deadly Sin: Gluttony
Fun, spontaneous and adventurous, Sevens are motivated by a need to be happy, plan stimulating experiences and avoid emotional and psychological pain. Their Passion of Gluttony reveals itself in the way Sevens gorge themselves on positive experiences, planning new adventures and entertaining interesting ideas to sidestep facing distressing emotions.

Type 8: The Challenger

Passion/Deadly Sin: Lust
Commanding, intense and confrontational, Eights are motivated by a need to assert strength and power, be in control and avoid feeling weak or vulnerable. Their Passion of Lust can be seen in the excessiveness Eights evidence in every area of life.

Type 9: The Peacemaker

Passion/Deadly Sin: Sloth
Pleasant, diplomatic and accommodating, Nines are motivated by a need to keep the peace, merge with others and avoid conflict. Their Passion of Sloth refers not to physical but to spiritual laziness. Nines avoid asserting their own priorities, developing themselves and taking responsibility for becoming their own person.

You can learn more about each type (and take the official test) on the Enneagram Institute website!

If you’re interested in learning more about the Enneagram from Ian’s perspective, grab a copy of his book, The Road Back to You. You can also check out his podcast of the same name here.

If you’re already familiar with the Enneagram, what’s your type? How has the Enneagram helped impacted your life personally, professionally or spiritually? Share with us in the comments below!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply